31
Jul
10

Collection of work so far ( July 2010 )

Ok so here’s a collection of interactive experiments and projects. The theme of these experiments are within the concept of interactivity and telepresence. One of these projects was a collaborative piece, I’ll give some brief details to each one and of course give credit where it’s due. Please keep in mind that It’s difficult to put these into chronological order as most of these are on going experiments.

Video feedback experiment

  • Concept: experimenting with concept of telepresence
  • How: I linked a video camera with a projector and placed them next to eachother, generating a continious feedback loop of imagery.this took place during 2009/2010 at the Arts University College of Bournemouth, UK

Projector experiment chair

  • Concept: I took content from my previous work ‘Dear Camera’ and attempted to place the content back into the environment it was recorded in. In this case projected back onto the chair the interviewees used.
  • How: I back projected video onto acetate

this took place during 2010 at the Arts University College of Bournemouth, UK-by Martin Billingham

Photo dissolve Projection

  • Concept: I am experimenting with the use of video projection and interaction, I am particularly interested in projected image onto unconventional surfaces. In this case I am projecting the image of a photo dissolving, back onto the original photo paper. The projection is only visible with the presence of a person in the room with it.
  • How: Part of an ongoing experiment related to my analogue photo-manipulation work, I used a small projector linked to a laptop, the interaction is made possible with use of VJ (Video Jockey) software

this took place during 2010 at the Arts University College of Bournemouth, UK-by Martin Billingham

Handshake

  • Concept: This is an ongoing experiment into the use of psychology and interactive media. I am trying to create an installation piece that creates an emotional as well as a psychological effect on the viewer. I’m particularly interested in the relationship between Interaction and Dysfunction
  • How: I am continuing experiments in order to find the best technology and software to produce the effect I am looking for. So far I have used a combination of video and coding software e.g. Processing

these experiment have so far taken place between 2008-current at Swindon College and the Arts University College of Bournemouth, UK-by Martin Billingham

Face

Credit where credits due, This piece was a collaboration with my good friend Simon Poole Andersson check out his blog entry on this project. ‘A study of Interaction’ It is important to say that this project was conceived by Simon.  there was alot of critical banter between us and of course, I took the active role of performing in this project, I suppose you could say I was acting as a form of subject matter. But as I’ve said, first and foremost this is a work by hybridvision of which  Simon Poole Andersson is the director.

  • Concept: Anyway on with the concept, essentially this piece was designed to explore communication and telepresence, I find it useful to think of it as a ‘Face Phone’ which isn’t too difficult of a concept to get your head around. Video conferencing has been around for some time now.
  • How: I’m going to leave this to Simon’s discretion, it’s possible that we will work together on this or something similar again and we’d want to perfect it first.

As a side note I found this experience utterly fascinating, it was interesting to see just how quickly an audience became comfortable with the scenario. Perhaps this is conjecture, but I truely believe viewers were more drawn to the interaction with a three dimensional face than that of a conventional screen. Again this related to my work with Un-framing

Blogged by Martin Billingham



0 Responses to “Collection of work so far ( July 2010 )”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


July 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031