18
Jan
11

Defining the project part 1 ‘ID Machine’ 2011

Ok. this Is going to be the project that I could continue with into my MA and beyond

Googledocs…what would I do without you?

Ok so I’ve started writing my thoughts down, I’m updating this document as i go and sharing it with my colleague Ashley. Again in this project I am acting Creative Director. I think it’s proved essential that I work in a group scenario so I can both inform and be informed by others with separate skills.

Id machine is a sceanrio that I will create in which a person walks into a room, a microphone and speaker are present. First audio input is outputted un-changed (like an Echo). Every subsequent recording from that individual, receives a different response (from a bank of other recordings).

I’m still engaged with the aesthetic of my last project ( ‘Look a little closer’ ) currently I’m thinking of using a model gramophone for the appearance of the speaker element, I want to engage the viewer with an interesting and curious object. Infact encouraging a sensation of curiosity will be essential to the experience. This is something I will explore further in an aesthetic post.

As for the system itself, I have narrowed down the needs into four catagories.

Main Processes:

  1. Managing the interaction
  2. Identifying
  3. Cataloging
  4. Generating response

Managing the interaction is the design process for how the system works, how it knows what to do and when.

Indentifying is the begining processing of the audio input, this is where the characteristics of the input are defined and these definitions attraibuted to the file itself

Cataloging is the process of saving the recording and placing it as an archetype into the database

Finally Generating the response is the end of the equation, it is the decision making process and output. e.g. input (A) is processed and output (B) is presented. In other words the refined information is put through a calculation process and the correct response type allocated. Then produced

I have begun to stetch a schematic map of the system

I am reworking this, identifying the issues and solving them.

here for example I have come across a topic that needs more thought. How will the system identify individuals? and what is the best way to do this?


0 Responses to “Defining the project part 1 ‘ID Machine’ 2011”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


January 2011
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31